On New Year Resolutions And Why you Should Skip Them

By December 2015, I was averaging close to 2 books/week. I was on a reading marathon and was loving every part of it. Upon 2016’s arrival, I took a resolution of reading 50 books by end of the year. At that point in time, I felt I was underestimating my ability to read given my reading rate was 2x.

50 books? Should be a cake walk at the pace I am going!

By the end of 2016, I have read 3 books. The silver lining? I read tons on medium, pocket, and feedly.

I have made lots of new year resolutions in the past. Try gym? Check. Read 100 books? Check. Ship 3 blogs every week? Check. Maintain a daily journal? Check. I have also failed at all of them terribly.

The excitement peaks on January 1 and from there’s it’s a straight downhill only to realize what a waste of time this “My new year resolution” exercise has been.

Depending on the calendar to improve your life is stupid at best. If you want to get shit done in 2017, don’t wait for January 1. Improve when it’s the time to improve and the time can be any day you aren’t happy with your current state.

Leave a Reply

